Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (1) - Music (6)

Freedom Rock review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 8 December 2013 04:25 (A review of Freedom Rock)

"Hey Man, is that freedom rock? Yeah man! Well, turn it up, man!"

Do you remember this TV commercial -- the one with the two hippies who sold this classic rock compilation album out of the back of their van? I certainly do. In fact, I was one of those who purchased it. I wish I held onto it, because it's impossible to find today.

Back in the late 80s when Freedom Rock was released there was a full-on hippie revival in effect. Kids were dressing like their bohemian parents did in the 60s and the Grateful Dead were dragging a whole new generation of tye-died, patchouli-drenched longhairs across the country. The subculture still exists today, but during the 60s revival of the late eightees an enterprising company put together this compilation of 40 classic rock hits (many of which I have a hard time associating with either freedom or hippies).

The sold-only-on-TV collection was sold on 4 LPs, 3 cassettes or 2 CDs. And now 20 years past the release of the Freedom Rock compilation, the songs still stand up.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Disco Nights review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 5 December 2013 01:02 (A review of Disco Nights)

Side One:
Boogie Oogie Oogie - Taste of Honey
Macho Man - Village People
You and I - Rick James
Do You Feel All Right - K.C. & The Sunshine Band
You Got Me Running - Lenny Williams
Shadow Running - Andy Gibb
Dance (Disco Heat) - Sylvester

Side Two:
I Love the Nightlife (Disco 'Round) - Alicia Bridges
Don't Hold Back - Chanson
Shame - Evelyn 'Champagne' King
You Should Do It - Peter Brown
Get Off - Foxy
Love Won't Be Denied - Len Boone
Think It Over - Cissy Houston


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Now That's What I Call Music Vol.22 review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 4 December 2013 11:24 (A review of Now That's What I Call Music Vol.22)

Disc one[edit]
Erasure : "Take a Chance On Me"
Ce Ce Peniston : "Finally"
KWS : "Please Don't Go"
Take That : "It Only Takes a Minute"
Nick Berry : "Heartbeat"
Snap : "Rhythm Is a Dancer"
Utah Saints : "Something Good"
The Cure : "Friday I'm in Love"
Marc Almond : "The Days of Pearly Spencer"
The Beautiful South : "Bell Bottomed Tear"
Prince : "Thunder"
U2 : "Even Better Than The Real Thing"
The Shamen : "L.S.I."
Electronic : "Disappointed"
Shakespears Sister : "I Don't Care"
Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine : "Do Re Me, So Far So Good"
Ugly Kid Joe : "Everything About You"
SL2 : "On a Ragga Tip"
The Orb : "Blue Room"
Disc two[edit]
Richard Marx : "Hazard"
Elton John : "The One"
Roy Orbison : "I Drove All Night"
Jimmy Nail : "Ain't No Doubt"
Joe Cocker : "Unchain My Heart"
Curtis Stigers : "You're All That Matters to Me"
Wilson Phillips : "You Won't See Me Cry"
Crowded House : "Four Seasons in One Day"
Annie Lennox : "Why"
George Michael & Elton John : "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me"
Diana Ross : "One Shining Moment"
Vanessa Williams : "Save the Best for Last"
En Vogue : "My Lovin' (You're Never Gonna Get It)"
Soul II Soul : "Joy"
Incognito : "Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing"


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Beat - Sound Wave of the 80's review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 4 December 2013 04:39 (A review of The Beat - Sound Wave of the 80's)

side one:
flock of seagulls: "i ran"
kim wilde: "kids in america"
haircut 100: "love plus one"
sparks: "i predict"
thompson twins: "in the the name of love"
graham parker: "you hit the spot"
the waitresses: "i know what boys like"

side two:
the go-go's: "we got the beat"
bow wow wow: "i want candy"
duran duran: "girls on film"
split enz: "i got you"
depeche mode: "dreaming of me"
omd: "joan of arc"
billy idol: "hot in the city"


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Glass House Rock review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 25 November 2013 10:52 (A review of Glass House Rock)

Side One: 1. Castaway 2. Desire Me 3. Anna Belle Lee 4. Things to Come 5. Small Change Side Two: 1. The Only Dance There Is 2. The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance 3. Serenade Her 4. Night After Night 5. For Your Love


0 comments, Reply to this entry

LEO SAYER World Radio vinyl LP review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 19 November 2013 11:58 (A review of LEO SAYER World Radio vinyl LP)

"Heart (Stop Beating in Time)" (Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb, Maurice Gibb) – 4:35
"Paris Dies in the Morning" (Leo Sayer, Andrew McCrorie-Shand) – 3:53
"Have You Ever Been in Love" (Andy Hill, Peter Sinfield, John Danter) – 3:45
"Rumours" (G. Mark, R. Smith) – 3:55
"Heroes" (Sayer, David Courtney) – 4:21
"'Til You Let Your Heart Win" (A. Willis, L. Wood) – 4:41
"End of the Game" (Sayer, Courtney) – 3:28
"Wondering Where the Lions Are" (Bruce Cockburn) – 3:28
"We've Got Ourselves in Love" (Sayer, Courtney) – 3:54
"World Radio" (Sayer, Courtney) – 5:26


0 comments, Reply to this entry

CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 12 November 2013 01:24 (A review of CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story)

The story of Legendary hip hop/r&b/pop trio TLC. The group rose to fame in 1991 when they signed to LaFace Records, releasing their multi-platinum debut. Their 1994 follow-up, CrazySexyCool sold over 22 million copies, and Fanmail sold over 10 million copies in 1999. This group experienced bankruptcy, illness, group fights, and death. All the way dominating the charts and the music industry.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block